Annual Department Awards

June 4, 2013
Marilyn R. Waldman Award for best essay by an undergraduate :  
  • Tamira Stephens, “Media Discourse and the Shroud of Turin,” in Comp St 651, Mike McVicar
  • Honorable Mention: Jordan Kelsey, “Altering Representations: An Analysis of Afro-Latin@s in Visual Media,” in Comp St 4802, Theresa Delgadillo
Richard Bjornson Award for best essay by a graduate student:  
  • Matthew O’Malley, “From Romanticism to Supermodernity and Back Again: Sections on the ordinary, the uneventful, and the scenes of genre in Lauren Berlant’s Cruel Optimism & the work of Stanley Cavell,” in Philip Armstrong’s Comp St 8866, Culture and Capital.
  • Honorable Mention: Matthew Campbell, “‘Not Soundin’ like Yourself’”: Thoughts on the Adaptation of Other Communicative Genres in the Formation of an Auditory Media Ideology during the Vietnam War,” in Dorothy Noyes, CS 7350.01 Theorizing Folklore: Tradition and Transmission.
Graduate Student Teaching Award:  Vidar Thorsteinsson
Faculty/Lecturer Teaching Award:  Michael McVicar
Graduate Student Departmental Service Award: Joshua Kurz
Other Awards, Faculty:
  • American Academy of Religion Research Grant (2012), Hugh Urban
  • National Endowment for the Humanities Fellowship (2013), Hugh Urban
  • Arts and Humanities International Travel Grant, Julia Watson
Other Awards, Graduate Students
  • Ray Travel Award (2), Lindsay Bernhagen
  • American Institute for the History of Pharmacy grant, Amy Gregg
  • Visiting Scholar, University of Oulu, Finland, Joshua Kurz
  • Arts and Humanities Graduate Small Research Grant, Joshua Kurz
  • Ray Travel Award, Joshua Kurz
  • Mershon Center for International Security Studies Graduate Student Travel Grant, Joshua Kurz
  • Dr. Gordon P.K. Chu Memorial Scholarship, Joshua Kurz
  • Acceptance to Futures of American Studies Institute, Dartmouth College, Brian Murphy
  • Arts and Humanities Graduate Small Research Grant, Brian Murphy
  • OSU-Marion Teaching Grant for travel to India, Conrad Robinson 
  • FLAS Fellowship, Kelly Schultz
  • Patrick B. Mullen Award, Joanna Spanos
  • Coca Cola Critical Difference for Women Grant, Joanna Spanos
  • Mortar Board and Sphinx Faculty and Staff Recognition Award, Joanna Spanos
  • Daniel Walden Prize, Best graduate student paper Mid-Atlantic Popular and American Culture Association Conference, Lee Wiles
Other Awards, Undergraduate Students
  • Outstanding Senior, Ohio Union Leadership Awards, Jordan Kelsey
  • Campus Impact Award, Sigma Phi Epsilon, Jordan Kelsey
  • Scarlet and Gray Grant, Danielle Lang
  • Election to Phi Beta Kappa, Stephen Meil
  • Maximus Scholarship, William Myers
  • Wolfe Study Abroad Scholarship, Katherine Petro
  • DISCO Research Grant, Andrew Philip
  • ASC Undergraduate Research Scholarship, Judith Rodriguez
  • Harvard Divinity School Grant, Tamira Stephens
  • Robert E. Reiter Prize for Critical Analysis (English Dept), Yeshua Tolle
  • Rosemarie Sena Scholarship, Yeshua Tolle