Departmental Awards Ceremony

May 1, 2015
Department Awards



Comparative Studies hosted their annual departmental awards ceremony on Friday, May 1st. We are happy to announce the winners of this years awards. Congratulations to all! This has truly been a great year for Comparative Studies. 

The Marilyn R. Waldman Award for best essay by an undergrad
  • Ryan Johnson, "Trans Futures: A Consideration of Transgender Youth, Transgender Visibility, and Transgender Citizenship" 
  • Honorable Mention: Will Myers, "The Ghost Incarnarte: The Commodity in Marx and Derrida"
The Richard Bjornson Award for best essay by a graduate student
  • Caroline Toy, “'The Right to Charity': The Alternative Economies of Pilgrimage"
  • Honorable Mention: Bennett Whitaker, "From Complexity to Novelty: A Non-Linear Dynamics Approach to Building Theory" 
Graduate Student Service Award: Jasmine Stork
The Margaret Lynd Award for Excellence in Teaching in the Department of Comparative Studies:
  • GTA: Nic Flores
  • Lecturer: Rita Trimble
  • Faculty: David Horn

Ryan Johnson and Barry Shank
Ryan Johnson, Marilyn R. Waldman Award Winner and Professor Shank.

Caroline Toy and Barry Shank
Caroline Toy, Bjornson Award Winner and Professor Shank.

Professor David Horn and Professor Barry Shank
Professor David Horn, Margaret Lynd Award Winner and Professor Shank