Ohio State nav bar

Throwback Thursday: 2022 Department Awards Ceremony

July 7, 2022

Throwback Thursday: 2022 Department Awards Ceremony

Group gathered in Hagerty

Following up on last academic year's virtual ceremony, the Department celebrated this year's Department awards recipients in hybrid form, with many in-person attendees present. The rescheduled ceremony took place on Thursday, April 28th. Please join us in congratulating this year's awardees!

Writing Awards

Marilyn Waldman Award for the best paper by an undergraduate in a Comparative Studies class: Shane Donaghy for his paper, “A Reading of Hippolytus”

Richard Bjornson Award for best essay by a graduate student: Rhiar Kanouse for her essay, “Horrific Consumption: Precarity of Cannibal Consumer in Jorge Michel Grau’s Somos lo que hay

Teaching Awards

Margaret Lynd Graduate Teaching Award: Parisa Ahmadi

Margaret Lynd Lecturer Teaching Award: Dan DiPiero

Margaret Lynd Faculty Teaching Award: Maurice Stevens

Service Awards

Graduate Student Departmental Service Award: Umut Gürses

Undergraduate Student Community Engagement Award: Elizabeth Burns, Gino Moretta, and Alanna Strickland